On October 29, 2018, New Jersey's Paid Sick Leave Act becomes effective requiring virtually all employers in New Jersey to provide paid sick leave benefits to their employees.
The Act requires employers, regardless of size, to provide up to 40 hours paid sick time per year. Employees accrue one hour of sick time for every 30 hours worked. Alternatively, employers can provide 40 hours of sick leave at the beginning of the benefit year. Employees can use the paid sick time for medical treatment, preventative care, etc. for the employee or family members, certain absences related to domestic or sexual violence and certain school conferences and closures.
Even employers with Paid Time Off (PTO) policies need to prepare for the October 29, 2018 deadline.
The Paid Sick Leave Act has broad definitions of "family member", which may include persons not covered by your current PTO policy. The Act also grants paid time off for areas that may not be included in your current PTO policies, such as school conferences to discuss a child's health condition or disability. The Act also has requirements for tracking employee hours worked and recordkeeping requirements.
Employers in New Jersey are encouraged to review their current PTO policy to make sure it conforms with the law and make adjustments before the October 29, 2018 deadline. If you do not have a paid sick leave policy and you employ people in New Jersey, time is running out to implement your company's policy.
For more information, please contact Julie Kinkopf at email@example.com or 215.972.7914.
Chelsea R. Seidel