Six Firm Attorneys Named as 'Best Lawyers in America'


Weber Gallagher Simpson Stapleton Fires & Newby LLP is proud to announce that six of its attorneys have been named to the 2010 edition of The Best Lawyers in America® (copyright 2009 by Woodward/White, Inc., of Aiken, S.C.), the oldest and most respected peer-review publication in the legal profession.

Partners Peter J. Weber, Paul M. Fires, Jeffrey D. Newby, Carl J. Smith, Jr. and Richard D. Arnold were selected by their peers for inclusion in Best Lawyers in the field of workers' compensation law. Partner Paula A. Koczan was selected in the field of medical malpractice law. Mssrs. Newby, Smith and Arnold were named for the first time; Mr. Weber has been included since 1995, Mr. Fires since 2007, and Ms. Koczan since 2008.

First published in 1983, Best Lawyers is based on an exhaustive annual peer-review survey. For the new U.S. edition, more than 24,126 leading attorneys cast more than 2.8 million votes on the legal abilities of other lawyers in the same and related specialties.

Because of the rigorous and transparent methodology used by Best Lawyers, and because lawyers are not required or allowed to pay a fee to be listed, inclusion in Best Lawyers is considered a singular honor. Corporate Counsel magazine has called Best Lawyers “the most respected referral list of attorneys in practice.”

Media Contacts

Valerie Lyons
T: 267.765.4124


back to top